Title

  • The Food of Spain

Author

Publisher

The Food of Spain

Overview

From the publisher

In The Food of Spain, Claudia Roden — one of our foremost authorities on Mediterranean, North African, and Italian cooking — brings her incomparable authenticity, vision, and immense knowledge to bear on the cuisines of Spain.

Roden believes that through food a cook can reconstruct an entire world. And in her classic A Book of Middle Eastern Food — 800 recipes long, a treasure trove of folk tales, proverbs, stories, poetry, and local history — that’s just what she did. Historian and critic Simon Schama has said of her that “Claudia Roden is no more a simple cookbook writer than Marcel Proust was a biscuit baker.” The Book of Jewish Food, another classic, is equally magnificent in its span, a cookbook that is also a history of Jewish life and settlement, told through the story of what Jews ate, and where, and why, and how they made it.

Now, in The Food of Spain, Roden applies that same remarkable insight, scope, and authority to a cuisine marked by its regionalism and suffused with an unusually particular culinary history. In hundreds of exquisite recipes, Roden explores both the little-known and the classic dishes of Spain, from Andalusia to Asturias, from Catalonia to Galicia.

Whether she’s writing about smoky, nutty Catalan Romesco sauce, Cordero a la Miel (sweet and hot tender lamb stew with honey) or the iconic, emblematic national dish of Spain, saffron-perfumed Paella Valenciana, her clear, elegant, humorous, and passionate voice is a reader’s delight, a guide not only to delicious food but to the peoples and cultures that produced it.

Both comprehensive and timeless, The Food of Spain is one of the most important books on this tremendous cuisine to appear in the last 50 years. A classic in the making, it is an essential work not only for fans of Spanish and Mediterranean food but for every serious cook as well as discerning armchair travelers.

Selected contents

Subscribe
Comments
There are no comments on this item
Add a comment

Think before you type

Culinate welcomes comments that are on-topic, clean, and courteous. For the benefit of the community we reserve the right to delete comments that contain advertising, personal attacks, profanity, or which are thinly disguised attempts to promote another website.

Please enter your comment

Format: Bare URLs are automatically linked; use this style: [http://www.example.com "place text to be linked here"] for prettier links. You may specify *bold* or _italic_ text. No HTML please.

Please identify yourself

Not a member? Sign up!

Please prove that you’re not a computer


All Books

Advertisement
Culinate 8

Kale in the raw

Eight versions of kale salad

Eight ways to spin everyone’s favorite salad.

Subscribe
Graze: Bites from the Site
First Person

The secret sharer

A father’s legacy

The Culinate Interview

Mollie Katzen

The vegetarian-cooking pioneer

Reviews

Down South

Barbecue, tamales, cocktails, and more

Local Flavors

A winter romesco sauce

Good on everything

Editor’s Choice